Superhero Trio

I apologize for disappearing for a bit longer then I expected, but hopefully things have calmed down a bit and I can get back to writing here.  I’ll get back to the Harry Potter reviews next week.  This time I feel the need to do quick reviews a few of the Superhero movies that have recently come out. (Like with my other reviews…there might be spoilers if you haven’t seen the movie yet.)

Thor (2011), Starring Chris Hemsworth, Natalie Portman, Tom Hiddleston…was actually better then I expected.  Typical story about a princeling who thinks he has all the answers to everything and ends up finding out that true power comes in serving and sacrifice instead of pigheaded brute force.  These type of stories, lately, have tended to be overly graphic, vulgar and sexual in nature.  I fully expected to have to turn this one off early in the showing.  Except for a bit more shirtlessness (on Thor’s part) and a bit more fighting then I like, I actually kind of liked this one.  The one downside…was the ending.  I’m a bit of a romantic…okay…more then a bit.  I always hate it when the guy doesn’t get the girl…or vice-versa.  I do have to concede though that the way this one ended does leave it open for a sequel.  I just hope they get the same actress.  I hate when they don’t…and just explain it by letting the guy fall in love with the new girl.  Not very heroic in my opinion.

_______________________________________________

Green Lantern (2011) Starring Ryan Reynolds, Blake Lively, Peter Sarsgaard…was very disappointing.  I did mention how I don’t like vulgar, right?  GadgetMan watched this one while I was in the middle of a “don’t bother me while I try not to puke and sleep 20 hours a day” time period.  He was very disappointed that even the hero didn’t have any better moral fiber then the villains or the intelligence to use something other then lazy language.  Not exactly hero type qualities.

_______________________________________________

Captain America: The First Avenger (2011) Starring Chris Evans, Hugo Weaving, Hayley Atwell and Stanley Tucci…I loved this movie…until the ending.  Probably more fighting then I should like, but I didn’t think it was overly graphic either.  I loved the weak geek type guy turn hero while keeping his core values story.  I loved the fun action adventure mixed with a bit of sci-fi stuff.  And I loved the subtle love story…without all the innuendos and jumping in bed stuff.  A good story/plot doesn’t need to rely on all of that to carry the story to the end.  That’s why I’ve very very disappointed in the ending!  A love story like that NEEDS an ending…and this ending made some leaps and bounds that were not only disappointing but were confusing as well.  They were searching for him…they had his basic flight path…they should have found him WAY sooner then he was found.  I’m really not a fan of endings like this.  Honestly…who is?

Leave a Reply

