Pumpkin Power Muffins

A few years ago we discovered that the simple cereal breakfasts weren’t working very well.  The kidlets were going through a box of cereal almost daily and were still hungry a short time later.  Then we discovered that some of us had allergies…to cottonseed oil, food dyes, preservatives, and oats.  Eliminating these things from our diet has been a challenge, but the effort has been worth it.  But this left me trying to figure out how to do breakfast…and keep it simple enough that everyone could basically feed themselves.  I think I’ve mentioned before how much I hate cooking.  Couple that with how much mornings hate me and you can imagine how discouraged and cranky I was feeling.

I can’t say the years have improved the morning crankiness…especially when a neighbor’s dog keeps me up half the night.  But that’s another story.  I have figured out a few solutions to the breakfast challenge.  The kidlets always have fruit or yogurt, some toast and a main “dish”.  Cream of Wheat works well for a couple of kidlets.  1-2-3 Magic Eggs is a good main dish…especially with fresh eggs.  But my kidlets’ favorite breakfast are muffins.  I’m still perfecting my quick muffin mix using whole wheat flour, but yesterday I threw together these pumpkin “power” muffins and can’t believe how yummy they are!

I modified my grandmother’s zucchini bread recipe (I’ll include it at the bottom of this post).  Just a quick explanation on the “power” part.  We’ve noticed that FireBird in particular has a really hard day if she doesn’t start the day with enough protein.  I’m suspecting there’s a hypoglycemic issue…but she’s also by far my pickiest eater.  Having her eat an egg in the morning solves the problem…*IF* she eats the egg.  Getting her to eat eggs is easier then convincing a lion it’s a vegetarian!  She does better on farm fresh eggs…the store eggs bothers her stomach…but eggs are far from her favorite.  I can’t really blame her…I’m not an egg eater myself for the same reasons.  Hopefully being able to use our own eggs will help us both.  But in the meantime I’m still left with the problem of starting her day off with a better start.  I just have to be a little sneaky!

Pumpkin Power Muffin Recipe

Preheat oven to 350 degrees.

Cream together:

  • 3 eggs
  • 3 Cups sugar

Mix in:

  • 1/4-1/3 Cup peanut butter
  • 1-2 tsp vanilla
  • 1/4 tsp baking powder (I actually forgot this.)
  • 1 tsp salt
  • 1 tsp baking soda
  • 3 Cups pumpkin puree (I used fresh which is quite a bit runnier then canned.  I imagine canned would work fine, but I’d add some extra water…maybe as much as 1/2 a cup.)
  • 3 tsp pumpkin pie spice
  • 1/4 Cup white bean flour
  • 4 Cups whole wheat flour

These would probably be great with add-ins like nuts or chocolate chips.  Fill lightly greased muffin tins (I use a 1/3 measuring cup to do this).  Bake for about 20 minutes.  I have a convection oven which bakes things a bit faster.  Any other oven will probably take 5-8 minutes longer.  Toothpick test for doneness.  Cool and enjoy!  (They freeze really well making mornings so much easier for me, and they warm back up with about 15 seconds in the microwave.)

Don’t they look yummy?

Grandma’s Zucchini Bread Recipe:

Preheat oven to 325 degrees.

Cream together:

  • 3 eggs
  • 3 Cups sugar

Mix in:

  • 1/4 tsp baking powder
  • 1 tsp salt
  • 1 tsp baking soda
  • 1 Cup oil (I use apple sauce.)
  • 3 tsp cinnamon
  • 3 tsp vanilla
  • 3 Cups zucchini (shredded)
  • 4 Cups flour
  • 1/2 Cups nuts (optional)

Grease and flour a loaf pan(s) (it’s been so long since I made this that I’m not sure if it’s 1 or 2 pans).  Pour in batter.  Bake for 1 hour 15 minutes.  This is grandma’s recipe from years ago.  Ovens have changed in efficiency so I’d start watching at about 45 minutes.  Toothpick test for doneness.  This recipe also works great with the mini loaves and muffins.  I bake those at 350 degrees for 20-25 minutes.

(If you try any of my recipes, please let me know how they work…and if you improve them please share!)

6 thoughts on “Pumpkin Power Muffins

  1. There are some interesting points in time in this article but I don’t know if I see all of them center to heart. There is some validity but I will take hold opinion until I look into it further. Good article , thanks and we want more! Added to FeedBurner as well

  2. Magnificent site. Plenty of useful information here. I am sending it to several friends ans also sharing in delicious. And obviously, thanks for your sweat!

  3. I’ve been browsing online more than three hours today, yet I never found any interesting article like yours. It’s pretty worth enough for me. In my view, if all website owners and bloggers made good content as you did, the web will be much more useful than ever before.

  4. I was wondering if you ever considered changing the layout of your website? Its very well written; I love what youve got to say. But maybe you could a little more in the way of content so people could connect with it better.

Leave a Reply

