For My Fathers

Once again, and true form, I’m putting this up later then I intended.  I’ll try to keep it short and sweet…but I’m sure we all know me by now…short is not really in my vocabulary.  🙂

For the Fathers in my life…

What Makes a Dad
God took the strength of a mountain,
The majesty of a tree,
The warmth of a summer sun,
The calm of a quiet sea,
The generous soul of nature,
The comforting arm of night,
The wisdom of the ages,
The power of the eagle’s flight,
The joy of a morning in spring,
The faith of a mustard seed,
The patience of eternity,
The depth of a family need.
Then God combined these qualities,
When there was nothing more to add,
He knew His masterpiece was complete,
And so, He called it… Dad
-Author Unknown

My own dad is one of the best!  We don’t always see eye-to-eye, and I’m sure I drive him crazy and confuse the heck out of him much of the time…but I’m grateful for all he has taught me…for the love he has shown me…for running after me to steady me on my bike…for my love of olives…for the listening ear on all those long car rides…and for scaring the monsters out of the dark and chasing the bully through his own house!  I love you Dad!

I’m also blessed by my father-in-laws.  Thank you for all the wonderful things that make you great!  You guys and my dad make the best grandparents for my kidlets…and even though I know technically  today is Fathers Day…grandpa is the best kind of father!  The following is from your sweet grandkidlets…”What GRANDPA means to me.”

CareBear

“G”reat Guy
“R”outine
“A”wesome
“N”ever Ending
“D”ad
“P”a
“A”mazing

GadgetJunior

“G”randpa
“R”oute 66
“A”loha
“N”ose
“D”ogs
“P”izza
“A” Helper

KnighJester

“G”ames
“R”on
“A” Friend
“N”ut
“D”og
“P”izza
“A”lways Grandpa

FireBird

“G”randma
“R”on
“A”pple
“N”ice
“D”og
“P”urple Flowers
“A”lways Helps Me

DoubleD

“G”randma
“R”arrr
“A”ce
“N”o
“D”ough
“P”ie
“A”te

LittleMiss

“G”ot Toys
“R”ight
“A” Riddle
“N”ights
“D”olly
“P”atience
“A” Hug

One of my favorite things each day is to hear my kidlets get so excited when their daddy comes home.  GadgetMan is not only my best friend…he’s the most wonderful, loving, patient dad ever.  I remember when he first became a dad…how scared he was to hold his baby girl for the first time.  The tears of joy he shed even after telling me not to be upset if he didn’t show too much emotion at her birth, is one of my sweetest memories of him.  All of our sweet babies loved to fall asleep on his chest…even when they wouldn’t sleep in my own arms.  How he interacts and cares for them for their whole lives and for every opportunity he takes to teach them in a kind patient, calm way…even when my own patience has long gone…makes me love him more and more each day.  Thank you sweetheart for being so perfect for us!  I hope today was the best Fathers Day so far…and look forward to another year watching you help me raise our kidlets!

(Disclaimer)

Leave a Reply

