Marley and Me

ehand For those who don’t know, Marley and Me is about an marleyuntrainable dog, his owners and their journey through life.  Simplistically, this movie is about relationships…dog/owner, husband/wife, friend/friend, worker/boss, parent/child.

Honestly, I would never have been able to own a dog like Marley.  It’s always kind of funny watching from the outside in.  But the dog would have been gone after the first time he chewed up the floor…and definitely after he swallowed my jewelry!  There’s  no way I would have put up with the dog disrupting my sleep or the sleep and health of my child!  But I do have to say that I enjoyed this movie for the most part.  Like I said, it’s always a bit funny watching from the outside.  There’s only one part that I can think of that I felt didn’t have to be in the movie at all…the skinny-dip birthday present.  Nothing was “shown”, but I didn’t think it needed to be there.  One thing that I was really impressed with was the character played by Owen Wilson.  I’m not always happy with most of the characters that he portrays…I don’t like the selfish disrespect.  In Marley and Me he plays a caring responsible husband who isn’t perfect, but honestly tries to put his wife and family first.  It seems to be a rare characteristic even in real life.

3handrating

Leave a Reply

