A Child…is not an Adult

ahand One of the hardest things for me in raising my children is keeping them in perspective.  It’s really easy to forget that they are just children.  And children are messy and loud and forgetful and all those other wonderful and not so wonderful things that makes them children.  I have a tendency to want to expect them to understand what I’m trying to say.  Children want to be grown up…and they want to please those around them…so I guess it shouldn’t surprise me that I find myself giving them more responsibility then I should.

So my knew goal is to work on perspective where my children are concerned.  Grandpa used to always say that you can’t put an adult head on a child’s body.  That’s too much weight on their little shoulders.  I’m going to try to remember that I can’t expect them to think and act with more then their years of experience…and that I should be able to remember what it feels like to be a child.

Wish me luck!

boy

Leave a Reply

