The Worms Crawl In

ohand “…the worms crawl out, the worms play pinochle on your snout. They eat your eyes, they eat your nose, they eat the jelly between your toes.”

Or how about this one…

“Nobody likes me, everybody hates me, guess I’ll eat some worms. Short ones, fat ones, skinny little black ones…”

Well…actually they’re going to be “skinny little RED ones”. I am sooooo excited!

We were working on “Operation: Fix my Garden” yesterday and GadgetMan helped me work out a place to start a “worm garden”. 🙂 I’m going to try vermicomposting again. I don’t have room for a full compost bin…plus the HOA frowns very heavy on that (they don’t even like anyone using manure in their gardens). Plus the nerve damage in my back/leg wouldn’t allow me to maintain a compost bin even if I could. But I really want the benefits of composting…so I’m going to try worm composting (vermicomposting).

I tried this once before about 5 or 6 years ago…a couple years before moving here. it didn’t work very well. But to be fair, I didn’t have all the information I needed then. I made several mistakes that pretty much doomed my attempts from the beginning. The plastic tub I used was too deep…I didn’t give it adequate drainage or airflow…I kept the bedding too wet…it got too hot in the summer and froze in the winter…and I used the wrong worms. This time, I think I know how to solve all those problems. And I’m hopeful that by summer, I’ll be able to use the worm “gold” on my plants. Worm castings are supposed to be one of the best fertilizers for plants…and it’s all natural!

According to all the info I’ve been reading through on this World Wide Web, there are several different worm composting bins…commercial and homemade. I even read about one guy who made trenches in his garden…right in the ground…to use for vermicopositing. The important things seem to be the right depth (no more then 2 feet), adequate drainage and air flow, and a lid to block out light. Oh and protection from the elements and critters is important too. The best worms are the red worms because they’ll eat their own weight in waste each day and withstand a little more abuse then other worms. They also reproduce quickly, but that won’t really be too much of a problem. 🙂

The cool thing about vermicomposting is that it can be done all year round, inside or out. They don’t take up much space and when done right, there’s not any smell or other problems. I’m not putting mine in the house…not really any room for it…and can you imagine DoubleD having access to something like that? But I think we’ve found the prefect place in the garden for it.

Can you tell I’m excited? Which is weird if I think too long about it…worms!?.

I’ll post more when it’s all set up.

One thought on “The Worms Crawl In

  1. Hi,
    I wish you luck in your second endeaver. If you need some help, you can to my website or my blog at Today.com Tha Wormguy

    I am by know means an authority on worms. I always looking for info on worms.

    I think euro nightcrawlers are as good as the Reds.

Leave a Reply

