The Best of Times, The Worst of Times and a Better New Year!

ihand CareBear greeted the new year with, “Another year come, another year gone!” which was quickly corrected by GadgetJunior “Don’t you mean a year gone, another year come?” CareBear likes to take a little time to contemplate the past before making plans for the future. While her brother prefers to think immediately on the future. GadgetMan is more like his son…he’s already making plans and looking to make this year more efficient and better then the last. While CareBear takes more after me. I need time to ponder and process the past, before I can move forward and make goals for the future.

So if you’ll forgive me, I’ll share a few of my ponderings and perhaps some goals as well.

“It was the best of times, it was the worst of times, it was the age of wisdom, it was the age of foolishness, it was the epoch of belief, it was the epoch of incredulity, it was the season of Light, it was the season of Darkness, it was the spring of hope, it was the winter of despair, we had everything before us, we had nothing before us, we were all going direct to heaven, we were all going direct the other way – in short, the period was so far like the present period, that some of its noisiest authorities insisted on its being received, for good or for evil, in the superlative degree of comparison only.” – Charles Dickens

There were a lot of changes…good and bad…in 2008. But in many ways, most things stayed the same. One day ran into another…mornings were as hard as ever…chores still had to be done…school and learning were accomplished…plants, pets and kidlets grew…and the sun continued to rise and set despite my pleading and begging for a little more time. “The best of times” brought LittleMiss to our family, watching my kidlets grow and conquer challenges they thought impossible, gathering with family so far away and learning a few things myself. “The worst of times” I think has to be the painful nerve damage received during LittleMiss’ birth…and swallowing my pride and stubbornness to let others do for me what I wished to do for them. And an “age of wisdom and age of foolishness”? Isn’t that just inherent in being a Mom? No explanation necessary? There’s plenty of the past to ponder…some of it I can see might have worked better if done different. But I can’t go back and “fix” it, so forward I go…hopefully with a steadier step and softer voice.

I’ve taken a little more time this year thinking about what I hope for 2009. There’s always the loose more weight resolution…that’s a no brainer…of course I need to loose weight…I’m the mom of 6! I also want to speak a little softer and be a little kinder…you know…give a few more hugs and laugh a little more. I’d like to start singing again…maybe time will work itself out and make that possible. I always say I want to write more…try to get something published. And that usually ends up being one of the bigger disappointments. So I think this year, I’m going to keep it simpler…I’m going to try to finish 1 story…just 1 and then go from there. Most of that is the same…goals for being a better mom, wife and me.

But I’ve been thinking of something new. Well, not really “new”…just not thought out and put in writing. My big resolution for this coming year is to help my family achieve their goals. I know, I know…that’s what mom is supposed to do, right? I’m going to make it a bigger deal, though, by writing it all down…and because I’m writing it here there’s bigger accountability, right? So here goes….

GadgetMan is committed to lowering our debt.
CareBear wants a best friend to hang out with.
GadgetJunior wants to get his whittling patch for Cubscouts.
KnightJester is determined to earn a “big bike”.
FireBird wants to read and color more.
DoubleD wants more cookies!
LittleMiss will walk and run this year.

Now I’m committed :)…but I’ve got a whole year. Here’s to a better year!

(Disclaimer)

Leave a Reply

