Garden Plans

ohand This is the time of year that I start drooling over garden catalogs and websites.  We only have a short couple of months before the garden starts to kick into gear with warmer weather. There area few cooler weather things that I can start now…like peas…but I’ve haven’t had time to focus on that yet.  Most of my efforts over the last couple of years have been devoted to learning to garden in this warmer climate and trying valiantly to get tomatoes to grow for me here.

So here are my wishes for the garden this year.  Most of it will be determined by how much of the new beds we can get in, how much of the other beds we can fix, and how much the budget will allow. The first order of business is to do the winter clean up.  It’s time to clear out the bermuda grass and that will take a lot of work.  Trees need to be pruned.  The beds need to be cleared out and redone…and the new beds need to be made and hopefully the habitats under the trees set up.

As for planting, I’d like to try a couple different tomatoes and I want a small determinate bushy tomato for my patio “salad garden”.  I’ll probably do a few more peppers, a ground cherry, beets, carrots, radishes, peas, beans and some melons.  The kidlets want to try pumpkin again and some cucumbers. If I can find a movable planter, I’ll plant some zucchini.  I’m hoping to start some purple asparagus, a sweet cherry bush and a goji plant.  I haven’t decided if I want to try kiwi again or not…and I don’t know if I want to try some giant strawberries or not.  I also need to decide if I want to get more elderberries.  I also want to increase my herbs in my salad garden.

One step at a time… 🙂

Leave a Reply

