The Belgariad, Vol. 2 by David Eddings

ehand Yep…I finished the The Belgariad, Vol. 2. You knew I would, right? I didn’t have the excuse of being sick with this one, but I still spent way more time then I should have indulging myself. In fact, I’ve read 2 other books since finishing the Belgariad series. It’s like an addiction relapse. GadgetMan said it’s been a long time since he’s seen me dive into reading…but raising kidlets and running a household takes a lot of time and I hate giving into my reading addiction. It’s too easy for me to come up with all kinds of excuses to hide in a book for a few hours. Though maybe my kidlets like the chance to do whatever they want while I read. I suppose I better find a happy medium.

Back to The Belgariad, Vol. 2 (Castle of Wizardry, Enchanters’ End Game) . This second volume contains the last 2 books in the 5 book The Belgariad series by David Eddings. The “farm boy” Belgarion discovers who he really is (he only discovered the first part of his destiny in the The Belgariad, Vol 1) and is propelled on his journey to face and defeat the “bad guy”. The men (Belgarion, his grandfather and Silk) go off to meet this destiny with the hopes of reducing the need for all out war in the rest of the world and the pain that comes with that. That was the part of the series that has always bothered me. Eddings spends the first 3 books bringing all the “heroes” together and then divides them in the last 2 books. The other heroes do have critical roles in preparing for the inevitable clash of good and evil. There are all the important tasks they do to prepare for the possible war and provide distraction so the men can sneak through enemy lines. And there is a group that get captured and taken to the same place the men eventually get to and become critical in the outcome. But I sort of wish there was a little more interaction with some of the other characters I grew to like in the first volume.

All in all, I would still highly recommend The Belgariad. The characters are fun and enjoyable and go through some realistic patterns of growth (for the most part). Even though the story isn’t all that unpredictable, it’s still fun to get lost in and I’ll probably dust the books off again in a couple years to dive in again.

5handrating

Leave a Reply

