Voter Fatigue Syndrome

ihand I purposefully avoided addressing anything political despite the obvious level of opinion that I could express here. I’m still not quite used to voicing my opinion for what it is without trying to not offend anyone else. I’m all too familiar with how a political discussion can escalate into a verbal altercation…and I’m not ready to travel that road here yet.

But I just have to get this out. I am so ready for this election to be over and done with. I have my opinions about the candidates like everyone else, but at this point I really don’t care what those opinions are. I just want it to be done. I’m tired. I’m tired of the mud slinging. I’m tired of the lying. I’m tired of the tv commercials. I’m tired of the irresponsible political spending. I’m tired of the irresponsible reporting. I’m tired of the round and round debates. But mostly I’m tired of the stupid intrusive phone calls. I don’t know how they do it, but they almost always call when I’m trying to get the baby to sleep. And 90% of the time there’s no answer when I pick up! I wish I’d thought of it sooner, but I finally started hitting the “talk” button quickly followed by the “off” button. (turning off the phone isn’t an option…I have enough trouble missing important calls because I loose the phone in the couch…remind me to tell you someday about how GadgetMan almost called 911 to come check on us…). I was still getting phone calls after our polls ended! I’m even too tired to watch all the media coverage on how the polls are adding up. I think I’ll indulge in a “bowl of comfort” (ice cream) and go to bed. Tomorrow’s another day, and this great nation will continue to move forward no matter who is voted into office. Life continues on.

But I’m sure that I’m not alone in feeling Voter Fatigue. So here’s a question for you – is there going to be funding for VFS?

(Please read my disclaimer before commenting.)

Leave a Reply

