Indiana Jones and the Kingdom of the Crystal Skull

Wow…did you know that it’s been almost 20 years since the Indiana Jones and the Last Crusade was made? I feel old.  When I heard there was a new one coming out, even though I felt a little hesitant about how it could compare to the Last Crusade, I was more then a little excited to see Indiana Jones and the Kingdom of the Crystal Skull.
But now that I’ve seen it…well…let’s just say that I’m not all that excited anymore.  I’m not saying it was a bad movie. In fact, compared to much of what is being made today, this one is pretty good.  I guess, I was hoping for more of the Last Crusade type adventure and humor.  The hardest part for me to get through was the beginning.  I was a bit dumbfounded by the little prairie dogs.I kept getting flashes of the little squirrel from Ice Age.  And then I had to laugh at the whole atomic bomb in the desert thing.  I’m not sure how feasible it would be to hide out in a refrigerator to survive atomic fallout, but come on.He flew how far in that thing?  Far enough to be blown clear of fall out issues.  And he flew faster then the Russian’s speeding car…and you see him tumble and bounce quite spectacularly.  And all he does is fall out at the end and basically shake himself off.All witnessed by those prairie dogs…who weren’t even singed themselves.  After that, I can only think of one other part that left me scratching my head for its cheesiness (the monkey scene).  For the most part, I think I enjoyed it.  Decent special effects, typical Indiana Jones clue solving and fighting with a little bit of the typical Jones’ humor — the snake was pretty funny.  This is one movie that I won’t be rushing to buy, but I wouldn’t return it if it was given either.  I think it was a hair better then the Lost Ark (very slim hair), definitely better then the Temple of Doom, but it has a long way to go to be compared to the Last Crusade.  But that’s my opinion.

3handrating

Leave a Reply

